Tags

, , , , ,

arzak2010

Our first visit to Arzak (and San Sebastian) in May 2010 was definitely an eye opening experience.  Before that, C and I were not overly passionate about travelling and eating. But since then, eating top quality food and travelling to do so has been our (unofficial) life missions.

What I remember most about dining at Arzak for the first time was how nervous and anxious I was.  I really did not know what to expect.  Will we feel out of place? Will the service be snobby?  Will the food live up to what I’ve read and seen?  All this and more was raising through my thoughts.  And at that time, C and I had never had the privilege of dining at any other Michelin starred restaurant, so I had no prior experiences to fall back on and relate to.  But little did I know, I had nothing to be worried about and that all the questions raising through my mind moments earlier were for not, as the Arzak’s do the best job at making every diner feel comfortable and right at home.

The food was excellent as well and, at that time, it was definitely the best meal I’ve ever had anywhere.  Colourful, playful, creative and delicious – all Arzak hallmarks – shone through in each course as it was described, presented and then consumed.  From the Egg Quake to the Liquid Chocolate Orbs with Basil Ice Cream, my mind was blown away.

Since then, we have been back to Arzak two more times (2011 and 2012), and will continue to do so every year we visit San Sebastian as each time we’ve visited it has been as special as the first.

To view pictures of our meal in its entirety, click through the photo set below. If you are using a mobile device, please click here for compatibility.

Thanks for reading,
S & C

